Skip to content Skip to navigation

EFA Education Day - Webinar Series

Printer-friendly version

                                      

 

                                                                     Produced with our partners:

 

 

                                                                         

 


 

The Operational Implications of Design Decisions - A Retrospective Look at Four Senior Housing Projects

Date: March 7, 2013 @ 11:00 AM ET , 10:00 AM CT, 9:00 AM MT, 8:00 AM PT

Providers are challenged to find ways to meet the growing demand for quality affordable senior housing. Current design research has generally overlooked this important market segment. This webinar presents lessons learned in the design and operation of four affordable senior apartment buildings constructed sequentially over a 12 year period by the same non-profit CCRC sponsor, providing a unique opportunity to study the recent evolution of affordable housing.

Speakers will identify the features of the designs that support successful marketing, operations and resident satisfaction and will compare and compare and contrast the common design elements of each project such as apartment size, kitchen configuration, types and locations of commons spaces and other resident amenities. A specific list of "Real world' tested design principles will be presented leaving participants will an understanding of practical design for the affordable housing market.

Speakers:

Howard Shergalis, NCARB, LEED A.P.
Director of the Senior Living Studio
RDL Architects, Inc.

Jane Carbeck
Senior Housing Compliance Director
Jennings Center for Older Adults

 


 

Residential Design for Mild Cognitive Impairment

Date: March 7, 2013 @ 1:00 PM ET, 12:00 PM CT, 11:00 AM MT, 10:00 AM PT

The topic of dementia is often discussed, but is often presented as a singular concept.  Design strategies typically focus on moderate to severe dementia in specialty care units, neglecting the nuances of the different stages.  Thinking about dementia as a continuum of cognitive impairment instead will help create more innovative programs and environments for residents in residential settings. This session focuses on the earliest stages of dementia, mild cognitive impairment (MCI) and mild dementia.  Many residents in assisted and independent living suffer from some form of MCI, whether it is caused by pre-dementia, medication side effects, or some kind of neurological disorder. 

Speakers will define the problems associated with each step of cognitive impairment, and discuss research-based solutions as well as the physical environment. Environmental strategies will be presented as a series of small to large scale modifications that can be made to residential units.  Modifications to an existing unit will be also be demonstrated.

Speakers:

 Alexis Denton, AIA, M.Arch, M.A.
Architect
SmithGroupJJR

Diana Kissil, AIA, EDAC, LEED AP BD+C
Principal
SmithGroupJJR

 


 

A LEADER Story of Culture Change in Louisiana

Date: March 7, 2013 @ 3:00 PM ET, 2:00 PM CT, 1:00 PM MT, 12:00 PM PT

Recognizing the life enhancing value of resident-centered care brought the challenge of "cultural change" in practice. This presentation is a transformation story of how CommCare Corporation achieved culture change in place at Rivie're de Soleil Coumminuty Care Center in Mansura, Louisiana.  CommCare embarked on a new 130-Resident Household Model consisting of 8 Skilled Nursing Households an 1 Rehabilitation Household in 3 Neighborhoods, with common Physical Therapy and Village Activity Square that were developed within a 1.5 year time frame on a restricted budget.  From the CORE of versatile care givers, to the COMMUNITY they serve, CommCare's approach focused on the importance of CHOICE, through self-determination of daily life activities, COLLABORATION in decision-making, and COMFORT and CARE, fundamental to resident empowerment.

 sdfsdfsdfsdfsdfsdfSpeakers:

Donovan Smith, AIA, ACHA, EDAC, LEED AP
Senior Facility Planner
KTH Architects Inc.

Jolie Harris, DNSc,MSN, RN, NEA-BC, CAS, DON-CLTC
Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer
CommCare Corporation